Mayors for Safe Schools

Mayors for Safe Schools
Coalition Members

Allentown Mayor Ed Pawlowski
Bensalem Mayor Joseph DiGirolamo
Birdsboro Fmr. Mayor Robert Myers
Braddock Mayor John Fetterman
Bridgeport Mayor Thaddeus Pruskowski
Brookhaven  Mayor Michael Hess
Butler  Fmr. Mayor Maggie Stock
Carbondale  Mayor Justin Taylor
Chambersburg  Fmr. Mayor Pete Lagiovane
Collegeville  Mayor Albert Stagliano
Conway  Mayor Debbie Giska-Rose
Danville  Fmr. Mayor Edward Coleman
Downingtown  Mayor Joshua Maxwell
Doylestown Mayor Ronald Strouse
Easton  Mayor Sal Panto, Jr.
Economy  Mayor David Poling
Emsworth  Mayor Dorothy Quinn
Gettysburg  Mayor William E. Troxell
Hanover  Mayor Ben Adams
Harrisburg Mayor Eric Papenfuse
Honey Brook Mayor Chris Mulhall
Indiana  Mayor George Hood
Jennerstown  Mayor Joyce Ginter
Kennett Square  Mayor Matthew Fetick
Kutztown  Mayor Sandra Green
Lansdowne  Fmr. Mayor Jayne Young
Leetsdale Mayor Pete Poninsky
Lincoln  Fmr. Mayor Nick Vay
Meadville  Mayor John Christopher Soff
McSherrystown  Mayor Anthony Weaver
Milton  Mayor Edward Nelson
Mt. Pocono Mayor Frederick Courtright
Narberth  Mayor Tom Grady
New Stanton  Mayor Nicholas DeSantis
North East   Mayor Steven Gregory
Northern Cambria  Mayor Carol Jarvis
Oakdale  Mayor Paul Hennemuth
Pittsburgh  Mayor Bill Peduto
Rankin  Mayor M. Nicholas Glova
Reading  Mayor Vaughn D. Spencer
Scranton Mayor Bill Courtright
State College  Mayor Elizabeth Goreham
Washington  Mayor Brenda Davis
Wesleyville  Fmr. Mayor E. Paul Johnson II
West Chester Mayor Carolyn Comitta
West Mifflin Mayor Chris Kelly
York Mayor Kim Bracey

Mayors for Safe Schools - One_2Mayors, and Presidents of Borough Councils and Township Board of Commissioners across Pennsylvania are affirming their support for safe schools. Local government leaders have critical roles in protecting the welfare of young people in our communities. Mayors for Safe Schools is a diverse and non-partisan group of leaders from rural, suburban, and urban communities who believe all students should be safe to learn in Pennsylvania schools.

To join the Mayors for Safe Schools, please fill out the online form below.

Mayors-for-Safe-Schools-Two-copyMayors for Safe Schools - Three copy




Mayors for Safe Schools – Registration Form

Name of City or Borough

Mayors for Safe Schools Statement

As the leaders of Pennsylvania’s local governments, we are united in supporting the principles of the Pennsylvania Safe Schools Act to protect our commonwealth’s students from bullying, cyberbullying, and harassment.

We understand the devastating impacts that school violence can have on individual students and teachers, educational environments, and entire communities. We are committed to supporting safe schools for all students.

We support the principles of the Pennsylvania Safe Schools Act to provide:

  • Comprehensive definitions of bullying, cyberbullying, and harassment;
  • A clear, safe, and secure way to report bullying, cyberbullying, and harassment;
  • Education for teachers, staff, and administrators to prevent and appropriately support students in situations of bullying, cyberbullying, and harassment;
  • Enumeration of protection to all students regardless of any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, national origin, ancestry or ethnicity, sexual orientation, physical, mental, emotional or learning disability, gender, gender identity, or physical appearance.

We support the Pennsylvania Safe Schools Act because it would safeguard the welfare of students in their education. We believe that our commonwealth must promote an educational system in which all students have access to a safe and high quality education without the fear of violence, discrimination, or bullying.

Map of Mayors for Safe Schools Members